Cost of 3D Printing (FFF Style)
Price model is as follows currently,
(Cost of Material / Grams of Materials in one Spool) X Grams used + .50 cents per forecasted hour (rounded up, .50 cent minimum) + possible $2.00 minimum charge for prints if under $2.00 total cost
(.06 x 2.34) = $0.14 cost of materials
(.06 x 2.34) + .50 cents = $0.64 cost of materials and time
(.06 x 2.34) + .50 cents + $2.00 = $2.64 retail value, 95% profit margin, thanks to the extra fee
Frog Dissection Kit
(.05 x 162.93) = $8.15 cost of materials
(.05 x 162.93) + (.50 cents x 11 hours) = $13.65 cost of materials and time
(.05 x 162.93) + (.50 cents x 11 hours) = $13.65 retail value, 40% profit margin
Red Lightsaber Example
(.05 x 206.87) = $10.34 cost of materials
(.05 x 206.87) + (.50 cents x 20 hours) = $20.34 cost of materials and time
(.05 x 206.87) + (.50 cents x 20 hours) = $20.34 retail value, 49% profit margin
I surveyed over 100 students, faculty and staff, as well as a couple of people not in those cateogories. The vast majority priced the lightsaber at $15-25. On a standard normal curve, the lowest1/3 or so said that they'd pay less than $10 dollars, citing lack of light functionality and legitimate licensedness etc. The top 1/3 or so quoted over $30 dollars, citing the expense and newness of the technology as a prime reason, most also added they would not pay for it at that price.
Overall, the market forecast seemed to fit the range of this price model; it will exclude users who do not view it as necessary or relevant enough to them, without wholly discluding the budget conscious users.
Note to consider, the per gram cost of filament is heavily simplified, Makerbot filament costs $48.00 per 1kg, but I rounded the per gram cost to $0.05 instead of $0.48; there is a small hidden profit from there. If we use different vendor filaments that can go as low as $15 per 1kg, then the profit margin rises rapidly. For example, if the lightsaber used a cheaper filament at $15.00 per 1kg, then the material cost would be $3.10. meaning the profit margin would rise to 85%.
Cost of 3D Scanning
The cost of scanning is more ambiguous but paradoxically should be easier. The Structure IO cost $500 dollars with the license for Skanect; the scanning software. Scanning a person can take about 30secs to 1 minute. A 3 inch full body print in the Makerbots can cost less than $2 at retail value. it is possible to do scanning for $10-20 dollars, and throwing in a free model. For a 10 minute chunk of my time, it would cost $3, for the complimentary print, it would be $2.00, so the rest would be profit. Each scan costs us $5 or so, and $10 would go back to the cost of the scanner or as profit. In 50 scans, the operation would pay itself off. Renting would cost more, I will work further with Jessica on this.